EVs the focus of AFP's first industry committee - Fleet Summit
  • edriving
  • EVs the focus of AFP’s first industry committee

    960 640 Stuart O'Brien

    The first details about the first of a new series of ‘industry leading’ committees have been announced by the Association of Fleet Professionals (AFP).

    The Electric Vehicle, Low Carbon and Alternative Fuels Committee will be led by AFP deputy chair Stewart Lightbody and vice-chaired by Paul Hollick, AFP co-chair. It includes Denise Lane of Capita, Chris Joyce of the AFP, Steve Cuddy of Close Brothers, Eric Bristow of Schindler, Ken Needham of Foxtons, Simon King of Mitie, Dale Eynon of DEFRA and Lorna McAtear of National Grid. 

    Its adopted mission statement is to “advise fleet operators how best they can make the transition from standard fuel types to electrification and other alternative fuels” with topics under consideration including: support from central and local government, and the treasury; home charging policies, employee reimbursement and usage; electric highway charging; best practice for EVs and PHEVs, and alternative fuel vehicles beyond EVs.

    Lightbody said: “Clearly, EVs, low carbon and alternative fuels are very much front-of-mind for fleets at the moment and we’re looking to generate industry-leading thought and discussion across a wide range of relevant areas where fleet managers are looking for guidance and information.

    “The calibre of committee member we’ve been able to attract is very impressive and we’re planning to serve as an incubator for ideas that will ultimately affect not just fleet strategies but policy and action across manufacturers, government, the HMRC and the DVLA.”

    The AFP was formed in March from the merging of the Association of Fleet Operators (ACFO) and the Institute of Car Fleet Management (ICFM) – and the new committees are part of the infrastructure being created around the new organisation.

    The Electric Vehicle, Low Carbon and Alternative Fuels Committee is the first of seven planned by the AFP, the others being Light Commercial Vehicles; COVID-19; Government Bodies and Trade Associations; Road Use and Planning; Risk and Compliance; and Future Mobility Steering.

    Paul Hollick, co-chair at the AFP, said: “One of the major intentions behind the formation of the AFP was that it would enable the fleet sector to speak with a single, unified voice, in order to have the best chance of being heard at the highest levels of decision making, including across Whitehall.

    “These new committees, covering what we believe to be the most important issues facing fleets at this point in time, are very much designed to serve as forums for the best new thinking in our industry, where issues and ideas can be discussed and refined into clear policy.

    “We’re really pleased to see that the EV, Low Carbon and Alternative Fuels committee has been able to attract some impressive names but we’re still putting the other six committees together, and we’d like to hear from anyone who would like to take an active role within the AFP by participating.

    “It could be that you have a special interest in one of these areas or that you simply believe that you have what it takes to make a contribution in general and would be happy to sit on any of them. We’re saying, ‘get in touch with us, your industry needs you.’”

    Fleet managers interested in joining any of the committees should contact the AFP Administration Centre at administration@theafp.co.uk. Committee meetings will take place once every two months, with the intention that most will take place through video-conferencing.


    Stuart O'Brien

    All stories by: Stuart O'Brien